No surprises

The five Conservative MPs that represent Somerset were all in the House of Commons last night. Marcus Fysh (Yeovil), David Warburton (Somerton & Frome) James Heappey (Wells) and Ian Liddell Grainger (Bridgwater & West Somerset) hav eall been pretty constant in their support of Brexit.

Rebecca Pow as a Junior Minister in Government was pretty much obligated to vote with the Government although she is the one MP in Somerset who started off as an ardent remain supporter.

But last night there were no surprises.

Voting on Prime Minister Johnson’s Brexit deal all five voted in favour and the Bill passed by 329 votes to 299.

Voting on the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill (PROGRAMME) which set the timetable for debating the Bill, all five voted with the government once again. This time they lost by 308 in favour to 322 against.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *