Conservatives endure long, hard night in Somerset as Lib Dems sweep the county

THE Conservative Party has been almost wiped out in Somerset – amid a landslide win for Labour nationally which will see see Sir Keir Starmer become prime minister.

Tories held seats in Taunton Deane (now Taunton & Wellington), Wells (now Wells & Mendip Hills), Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil – until yesterday’s poll.

And overnight, all of them were lost.

In Taunton & Wellington, Lib Dem Gideon Amos defeated former environment minister Rebecca Pow, securing a majority of some 12,000.

Wells and Mendip Hills will welcome back Tessa Munt – a former MP for the area – while Weston will no longer be represented by Conservative John Penrose, after he lost his seat to Labour’s Dan Aldridge.

Yeovil saw Conservative Marcus Fysh ousted, with a big win for Liberal Democrat, Adam Dance.

In the new Frome & East Somerset constituency, Liberal Democrat Anna Sabine came out on top, while Sarah Dyke retained her place in the House of Commons, representing the new Glastonbury & Somerton seat.

New MP for Tiverton & Minehead, Rachel Gilmour, makes her victory speech as Ian Liddell-Grainger, right, looks on

New MP for Tiverton & Minehead, Rachel Gilmour, makes her victory speech as Ian Liddell-Grainger, right, looks on

Tiverton & Minehead, another new seat, saw Liberal Democrat Rachel Gilmour emerge victorious, with long-serving former Bridgwater and West Somerset MP, Ian Liddell-Grainger, beaten into second place for the Conservatives.

The solitary piece of good news for the Conservatives came in Bridgwater, where Ashley Fox secured the new seat after a 1,300-vote win over Labour’s Leigh Redman.

The results came as the results in Somerset were mirrored across the country, with Labour securing a landslide victory – gaining 210 seats at the time of writing, with a total of 409 – followed by the Conservatives on 118 (a drop of 247).

Ed Davey’s eye-catching campaign has resulted in the Liberal Democrats gaining a whopping 62 seats, giving them a total of 70, while the SNP collapsed to just eight seats.

Reform UK, which split the Conservative vote across the UK, will have five seats – including Nigel Farage in Clacton – while the Green Party will have four, including Bristol Central.

Full 2024 general election results in Somerset:

Ashley Fox – Conservatives: 12,281
Leigh Redman – Labour: 10,932
William Fagg – Reform UK: 8,913
Claire Sully – Liberal Democrats: 5,781
Charles Graham – Green Party: 1,720
Pele Barnes – Independent: 334
Gregory Tanner – Workers Party of Britain: 168

Frome & East Somerset
Anna Sabine – Liberal Democrats: 16,580
Lucy Trimnell – Conservatives: 11,165
David Swain – Reform UK: 6,441
Robin Moss – Labour: 6,416
Martin Dimery – Green Party: 5,083
Shaun Hughes – Independent: 737
Gavin Heathcote – Independent: 294

Glastonbury & Somerton
Sarah Dyke – Liberal Democrats: 20,364
Faye Purbrick – Conservatives: 13,753
Tom Carter – Reform UK: 7,678
Hal Hooberman – Labour: 3,111
Jon Cousins – Green Party: 2,736

Rebecca Pow was gracious in defeat, as Gideon Amos secured the new Taunton & Wellington seat

Rebecca Pow was gracious in defeat, as Gideon Amos secured the new Taunton & Wellington seat

Taunton & Wellington
Gideon Amos – Liberal Democrats: 24,331
Rebecca Pow – Conservatives: 12,392
Charles Hansard – Reform UK: 8,053
Brenda Weston – Labour: 3,552
Ryan Trower – Green Party: 1,832
Rochelle Russell – Communist Party of Britain: 134

Tiverton & Minehead
Rachel Gilmour – Liberal Democrats: 18,326
Ian Liddell-Grainger – Conservatives: 14,819
Fred Keen – Reform UK: 7,787
Jonathan Barter – Labour: 4,325
Laura Buchanan – Green Party: 2,234

Wells & Mendip Hills
Tessa Munt – Liberal Democrats: 23,622
Meg Powell-Chandler – Conservatives: 12,501
Helen Hims – Reform UK: 6,611
Joe Joseph – Labour: 3,527
Peter Welsh – Green Party: 2,068
Abi McGuire – Independent: 1,849
Craig Clarke – Independent: 190

Dan Aldridge – Labour: 16,310
John Penrose – Conservatives: 11,901
Richard Pearse – Reform UK: 7,735
Patrick Keating – Liberal Democrats: 3,756
Thomas Daw – Green Party: 2,688

Adam Dance – Liberal Democrats: 23,765
Marcus Fysh – Conservatives: 11,497
Laura Bailhache – Reform UK: 7,677
Rebecca Montacute – Labour: 3,002
Serena Wootton – Green Party: 2,403
Steve Ashton – Independent: 608

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *